Gateway for Africa

The event listings site and culture blog from the Royal African Society

Sign up for our newsletter

Something for the Weekend
Sign up for a weekly curated list of Africa related events from our events listings and reviews site www.gatewayforafrica.org

Welcome

Academia

Art & Photography

Business & Finance

Film & Documentaries

Books & Literary

Politics & Development

Music & Clubs

Theatre & Stage

Everything Else

Call for Papers

Opportunities

Everything Else
Wednesday, 20 August 2014 - 6:45pm to Friday, 21 August 2015 - 6:45pm
UCL Thinking skills project for preschoolers-Be a little scientist for the day: Looking for children with African heritage
Theatre & Stage
Saturday, 24 January 2015 - 10:30am to Saturday, 28 February 2015 - 12:30am
BLACK PLAYS
Everything Else
Friday, 30 January 2015 - 7:00pm to Saturday, 9 May 2015 - 11:45pm
Changing Britain Festival
Art & Photography
Thursday, 12 February 2015 - 10:00am to Saturday, 28 March 2015 - 6:30pm
El Anatsui: Selected Works: October Gallery, London
Theatre & Stage
Thursday, 12 February 2015 - 7:00pm to Saturday, 25 April 2015 - 11:00pm
UK Tour: All my Sons - a Talawa Theatre Company production
Theatre & Stage
Friday, 13 February 2015 - 7:00pm to Monday, 2 March 2015 - 11:30pm
Safety Catch (Scratch performance)
Theatre & Stage
Saturday, 14 February 2015 - 7:00pm to Saturday, 7 March 2015 - 11:00pm
Boi Boi is dead
Everything Else
Sunday, 15 February 2015 - 10:00am to Sunday, 19 July 2015 - 2:00pm
AFRO GROOVES WORKSHOP
Art & Photography
Monday, 16 February 2015 - 10:00am to Friday, 27 February 2015 - 12:00am
Through the people’s lens
Academia
Tuesday, 17 February 2015 - 7:00pm to Tuesday, 17 March 2015 - 9:00pm
'Pitt' Hornung, The Rise and Fall of an Anglo-Portuguese Enterprise in the 20th Century
Art & Photography
Friday, 20 February 2015 - 11:00am to Saturday, 28 March 2015 - 6:00pm
ruby onyinyechi omanze: a story. in parts.
Film & Documentaries
Sunday, 22 February 2015 - 4:00pm to Sunday, 27 December 2015 - 7:30pm
FILM SUNDAYS IN LAGOS
Theatre & Stage
Monday, 23 February 2015 - 7:45pm to Saturday, 14 March 2015 - 10:45pm
Muscovado: A new play about slavery in 1800s Barbados, performing in London.
Politics & Development
Thursday, 26 February 2015 - 9:00am to Friday, 27 February 2015 - 6:00pm
The Africa Healthcare Summit 2015
Theatre & Stage
Thursday, 26 February 2015 - 7:30pm to Saturday, 21 March 2015 - 6:30pm
THE RISE AND SHINE OF COMRADE FIASCO By Andrew Whaley
Music & Clubs
Thursday, 26 February 2015 - 9:00pm to Friday, 27 February 2015 - 3:00am
AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT FORUM PRESENTS: KOLOM II
Academia
Friday, 27 February 2015 - 10:00am to 4:30pm
Doctoral Students' Open Day: African and Asian Studies
Art & Photography
Friday, 27 February 2015 - 12:00pm to Sunday, 1 March 2015 - 6:00pm
THAT ART FAIR
Academia
The Rainbow Intersection - A dialogue about reconciling Religion, Faith, Belief and Sexuality
Film & Documentaries
Friday, 27 February 2015 - 7:00pm
Short Films at LSE
Music & Clubs
Friday, 27 February 2015 - 8:00pm
Wah Wah 45s w/ Dele Sosimi Afrobeat Orchestra
Film & Documentaries
Saturday, 28 February 2015 - 6:15pm
Concerning Violence + Workshop
Music & Clubs
Saturday, 28 February 2015 - 7:00pm to Sunday, 1 March 2015 - 4:00am
Strings on Fire: Jally Kebba Suso and Manding Sabu with The Shama Rahman Band and Mangoseed
Everything Else
Sunday, 1 March 2015 - 6:30pm to Sunday, 8 March 2015 - 11:45pm
WOW - WOMEN OF THE WORLD FESTIVAL
Film & Documentaries
Monday, 2 March 2015 - 8:30pm
Oscar Week: Selma
Everything Else
The Massacre of Addis Ababa, February 1937 - Lecture by Ian Campbell
Film & Documentaries
Thursday, 5 March 2015 - 7:00pm
Film Screening: LAGOS - NOTES OF A CITY
Theatre & Stage
Thursday, 5 March 2015 - 7:45pm to Saturday, 7 March 2015 - 10:30pm
THE BAULKHAM HILLS AFRICAN LADIES TROUPE
Film & Documentaries
DIFRET: In cinemas 6 March with additional screenings for International Women's Day on 8 March.
Music & Clubs
Friday, 6 March 2015 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
LADY LESHURR & GUESTS
Politics & Development
Saturday, 7 March 2015 - 11:00am to 3:30pm
Education Beyond Ebola
Music & Clubs
Saturday, 7 March 2015 - 7:00pm to Sunday, 8 March 2015 - 3:00am
LA FÊTE - African Music Night with The InRhythms
Academia
Tuesday, 10 March 2015 - 10:00am to Thursday, 12 March 2015 - 5:00pm
Trust Africa Higher Education Summit
Academia
Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 12:30pm to 1:30pm
Why Action is Needed: Understanding FGM
Academia
Friday, 13 March 2015 - 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Who Stole all the Black Women from Britain?
Music & Clubs
Sunday, 15 March 2015 - 2:00pm to Tuesday, 30 June 2015 - 5:00pm
Mwalimu Express
Academia
Monday, 16 March 2015 - 9:00am to 5:00pm
The third Africa Research Day
Politics & Development
Tuesday, 17 March 2015 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Shifting African digital landscapes
Academia
Tuesday, 17 March 2015 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Shifting African Digital Landscapes
Theatre & Stage
Tuesday, 17 March 2015 - 7:00pm to Saturday, 28 March 2015 - 11:00pm
Boi Boi is dead
Theatre & Stage
Tuesday, 17 March 2015 - 7:30pm to Wednesday, 18 March 2015 - 10:00pm
Black
Business & Finance
Friday, 20 March 2015 - 1:00pm to Saturday, 21 March 2015 - 6:00pm
Homecoming Revolution Speed Meet Africa 2015
Books & Literary
THE FOLIO SOCIETY LECTURE: CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE AT THE BRITISH LIBRARY
Academia
Friday, 20 March 2015 - 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Pull Up to the Bumper: Black Bodies Trending
Business & Finance
Wednesday, 25 March 2015 - 8:30am to Friday, 27 March 2015 - 6:00pm
North Africa Construction Week 2015
Academia
Friday, 27 March 2015 - 6:30pm to 9:00pm
Hip Hop to Opera via Negro Spirituals
Everything Else
Sunday, 29 March 2015 - 1:00pm to 7:00pm
THE AFRICAN MARKET
Music & Clubs
TONY DUDU & THE GUMBE JAZZ (AFROLATIN JAZZ & AFRICAN RHYTHMS - GUINEA BISSAU)
Music & Clubs
Friday, 3 April 2015 - 6:00pm
FUSE ODG
Business & Finance
Friday, 3 April 2015 - 6:00pm to Saturday, 4 April 2015 - 9:30pm
Africa Business Angel Forum
Politics & Development
Coffee and Flower Growing in Ethiopia - Lecture by Professor Christopher Cramer
Music & Clubs
Friday, 10 April 2015 - 7:00pm to 10:30pm
FUNMI OLAWUMI - Yoruba Soul
Academia
Friday, 17 April 2015 - 9:30am to Saturday, 18 April 2015 - 9:30pm
Conference: "Igbo Womanhood, Womanbeing and Personhood
Business & Finance
Monday, 27 April 2015 - 9:00am to Wednesday, 29 April 2015 - 5:00pm
West Africa Natural Resources Investment Summit 2015
Politics & Development
Nationalism, Law and Statelessness. Grand Illusions in the Horn of Africa - Lecture by John Campbell
Art & Photography
Friday, 15 May 2015 - 9:00pm to Sunday, 17 May 2015 - 6:00pm
1:54 Contemporary Art Fair: New York 'Pop Up'
Academia
Wednesday, 20 May 2015 - 9:00am to Thursday, 21 May 2015 - 5:00pm
2015 Africa Prosperity Summit: Promoting Wealth and Wellbeing
Music & Clubs
Saturday, 30 May 2015 - 7:30pm
Fatoumata Diawara and Roberto Fonseca
Music & Clubs
LSO Singing Day: African/American Journey with David Lawrence
Theatre & Stage
Sunday, 21 June 2015 - 7:30pm
Silimanjaro
Everything Else
Friday, 7 August 2015 - 9:00am to Monday, 10 August 2015 - 4:00pm
Journal of Southern African Studies 1st Biennial Conference