Gateway for Africa

The event listings site and culture blog from the Royal African Society

Sign up for our newsletter

Something for the Weekend
Sign up for a weekly curated list of Africa related events from our events listings and reviews site www.gatewayforafrica.org

Welcome

Academia

Art & Photography

Business & Finance

Film & Documentaries

Books & Literary

Politics & Development

Music & Clubs

Theatre & Stage

Everything Else

Call for Papers

Opportunities

Everything Else
Wednesday, 20 August 2014 - 6:45pm to Friday, 21 August 2015 - 6:45pm
UCL Thinking skills project for preschoolers-Be a little scientist for the day: Looking for children with African heritage
Everything Else
Friday, 30 January 2015 - 7:00pm to Saturday, 9 May 2015 - 11:45pm
Changing Britain Festival
Everything Else
Sunday, 15 February 2015 - 10:00am to Sunday, 19 July 2015 - 2:00pm
AFRO GROOVES WORKSHOP
Music & Clubs
Sunday, 15 March 2015 - 2:00pm to Tuesday, 30 June 2015 - 5:00pm
Mwalimu Express
Film & Documentaries
Sunday, 29 March 2015 - 4:00pm to Sunday, 27 December 2015 - 7:30pm
FILM SUNDAYS IN LAGOS
Opportunities
Wednesday, 8 April 2015 - 1:00am to Sunday, 31 May 2015 - 1:00am
BBC1 Game Show Pointless Need Contestants
Art & Photography
Thursday, 9 April 2015 - 6:30pm to Saturday, 9 May 2015 - 5:00pm
Mythopoeia | Tiwani Contemporary
Theatre & Stage
Thursday, 23 April 2015 - 7:30pm to Saturday, 16 May 2015 - 6:30pm
Eclipsed
Politics & Development
Wednesday, 6 May 2015 - 7:00pm
First Wednesday: Crisis in the Mediterranean
Film & Documentaries
Sneak Preview Screening: Warriors from the North + Q&A
Business & Finance
Saturday, 9 May 2015 - 1:30pm to 5:00pm
JumpStart Your Africa Business 2015 !
Everything Else
Tuesday, 12 May 2015 - 6:30pm to 11:00pm
Poetry Meets Art - 19th Edition
Academia
Lecture - Nationalism, Law and Statelessness: Grand Illusions in the Horn of Africa
Politics & Development
Nationalism, Law and Statelessness. Grand Illusions in the Horn of Africa - Lecture by John Campbell
Art & Photography
Wednesday, 13 May 2015 - 6:30pm to 8:30pm
CAS 50th Anniversary Lecture: Yinka Shonibare MBE RA
Film & Documentaries
Thursday, 14 May 2015 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Look How Far We've Come Community Talk & DVD Launch/Is Jesus White?
Art & Photography
Friday, 15 May 2015 - 9:00pm to Sunday, 17 May 2015 - 6:00pm
1:54 Contemporary Art Fair: New York 'Pop Up'
Music & Clubs
Monday, 18 May 2015 - 8:00pm
SERIOUS SPACE SHOREDITCH: FLAVIA COELHO
Academia
Wednesday, 20 May 2015 - 8:00am to Thursday, 21 May 2015 - 5:00pm
2015 Africa Prosperity Summit: Promoting Wealth and Wellbeing
Art & Photography
Friday, 22 May 2015 - 11:00am to Saturday, 27 June 2015 - 5:00pm
The View From Here
Academia
Wednesday, 27 May 2015 - 9:15am to 5:00pm
Making International Tertiary Education Accessible to Africa
Music & Clubs
Thursday, 28 May 2015 - 8:00pm
Gaâda Diwane De Béchar – UK PREMIERE
Music & Clubs
Friday, 29 May 2015 - 7:00pm
The Yoruba Women Choir
Music & Clubs
Saturday, 30 May 2015 - 7:30pm
Fatoumata Diawara and Roberto Fonseca
Music & Clubs
Sunday, 31 May 2015 - 7:00pm to 11:00pm
Soundcrash Presents: Bassekou Kouiate & Ngoni Ba
Everything Else
Friday, 5 June 2015 - 9:15am to 11:15pm
Africa Together
Music & Clubs
Friday, 5 June 2015 - 8:00pm
Cadenza Collective
Music & Clubs
Friday, 5 June 2015 - 9:30pm
Songlines Encounters Festival: Afriquoi
Politics & Development
Wednesday, 10 June 2015 - 11:00am to 12:30pm
SCOLMA Seminar: 'The Cultural Politics of Dirt in Africa', Professor Steph Newell, University of Sussex
Art & Photography
Saturday, 13 June 2015 - 10:00am to Sunday, 31 January 2016 - 7:00pm
Shoes: Pleasure and Pain
Opportunities
Thursday, 18 June 2015 - 8:00am to Friday, 19 June 2015 - 12:00am
AFRICA CEO ROUNDTABLE ON CORPORATE SUSTAINABILITY & RESPONSIBILITY (AR-CSR™)
Music & Clubs
LSO Singing Day: African/American Journey with David Lawrence
Politics & Development
'Leaving no-one behind' - Promoting equity in society - Lecture by Bev Jones
Theatre & Stage
Sunday, 21 June 2015 - 7:30pm
Silimanjaro
Academia
Friday, 17 July 2015 - 9:15am to 5:30pm
SCOLMA Annual Conference 2015 '"There came a darkness": Africa, Africans and World War I'
Everything Else
Wednesday, 22 July 2015 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
When Britain Loved RasTafari - Lecture by Robbie Shilliam
Everything Else
Wednesday, 29 July 2015 - 12:00pm to Sunday, 2 August 2015 - 4:00pm
Tribe of Doris Main Event
Everything Else
Friday, 7 August 2015 - 9:00am to Monday, 10 August 2015 - 4:00pm
Journal of Southern African Studies 1st Biennial Conference
Business & Finance
Monday, 17 August 2015 - 8:00am to Tuesday, 18 August 2015 - 5:30pm
5th Annual Telecom Customer Experience, Loyalty & Retention
Business & Finance
Saturday, 12 September 2015 - 9:30pm to Sunday, 13 September 2015 - 2:00am
5th Uganda-UK Investment Convention 2015
Everything Else
Addis Ababa Fistula Hospital and the Hamlin College of Midwives - Lecture by Malcolm Hewitt
Business & Finance
Wednesday, 14 October 2015 - 9:00am to Thursday, 15 October 2015 - 5:00pm
Africa Business & Investment Conference
Everything Else
Saturday, 17 October 2015 - 9:00am to Sunday, 18 October 2015 - 11:00pm
Battle of Ideas 2015
Business & Finance
Monday, 26 October 2015 - 8:00am to Friday, 30 October 2015 - 2:00pm
22nd Africa Oil Week
Business & Finance
Tuesday, 24 November 2015 - 7:15pm to Wednesday, 25 November 2015 - 7:15pm
Global African Investment Summit 2015